The DEO is the head of educational administration in the district, he looks after the administration of the Secondary and Higher Secondary Education. The administration of Elementary Education is being undertaken by the Sub Divisional Education Officer. Lunglei is divided into four (4) sub divisions viz., Hnahthial, Lunglei N, Lunglei S, and Lungsen Sub Divisions. There are two subordinate officers in the DEO office, one Assistant District Education Officer (post under creation) and one Hindi Propagation Officer.